A christian artist called to Ecuador.

Alive and Well

Easter sunrise service in the mountains.

Easter sunrise service in the mountains.

Every time it’s been months since my last post, I apologize profusely and swear I will be more diligent in updating my blog more frequently. But since I fail consistently at keeping up with that resolution, I’m not going to bother this time around. Instead I’m just going to dive right in!

Late March was a bit frustrating this time around because I actually had a number of classes fall through, due to scheduling problems for my students. While I was away for three months in the States, people got jobs, their children’s school schedules changed (here in Ecuador kids may have classes that either start in the morning and go until the afternoon or start in the afternoon and go until seven pm at night.) It’s always amazing how quickly and suddenly things can change, but it doesn’t always feel amazing. Personally I was feeling a little more than disappointed. My disappointment was then compounded by being mugged by two guys with a box cutter as I walked home one afternoon from the metro. Any violent altercation where your personal safety and liberty is violated in any way is shaking, but I was more angry than anything. Regardless, I was unharmed, minus the loss of personal effects (a bag of art supplies, my keys, my mace, my ipod, and my umbrella- in the rain no less!) But the Lord was watching after me even then- because I did put up a bit of a fight and would not relinquish my death grip hold on my cel phone (it is sooooo inconvenient to have to replace all those phone numbers!) and plenty of people are injured if they resist being mugged here. My community was very supportive and caring and checking in on me and my roommate who came running to my aid as soon as she heard. One person, our team coordinator, even came up with a replacement ipod (not as nice as the one I lost but free of charge!) And then, just a week later, late at night I got a sketchy call from someone who had “found” my ipod/phone at a market on the street. Thanks to the Apple Icloud lock/ find my iphone feature, I was able to disable my phone and prevent any future owner from using it. So when said unfortunate person purchased my stolen iphone and tried to use it- all that came up was my number and my “stolen” message. After some haggling and passing the affair over to my team leader to handle in case it was the thieves trying to rob me again, against all odds- I had my own iphone, undamaged and back in my hand for a minor exchange of $25’s! Who could have called that one? The Lord definitely had my back!

(And let’s be honest, it’s a miracle I hadn’t been mugged before now given all the places I travel to alone.)

Mugging and all that aside, after a week or so of discouragement over my classes a new opportunity arose from the chaos that was my unresolved schedule.

One of the girls from Casa Adhalia (rescue home for girls who have been or are at risk of being trafficked) was forced to move out due to conflicts with another girl living there who was antagonizing her to the point of wanting to run away. Though it might seem backwards, the instigator could not be removed from the house out of concern for her four children. Instead, the other girl (we’ll call her Caitlin) was brought to live in the home of the administrators who run Casa Adhalia. Although I cannot tell you her real name or too many personal details about her for safety reasons, I can say that despite having been through a horrific ordeal (she was sold into prostitution by her own mother at the age of eight) she is an amazingly sweet and sensitive girl (now twenty years old and just recently rescued.) As providence would have it, she loves art and working with her hands, which she can do easily- all day long. (Just like me…) So thanks to my unexpected extra free time I have been able to spend two full days a week with her, painting, cooking, and doing other art projects, ministering to both her and the couple she is staying with (who cannot leave her alone but somehow must figure out how to maintain their own busy ministry schedules while she is staying in their home.)

Caitlin's first painting.

Caitlin’s first painting.

Caitlin's second painting.

Caitlin’s second painting.

It just goes to show you, that just because things don’t go according to our plans and preferences doesn’t mean that Gods’ plan isn’t right on track. If none of my classes had been canceled, I would not have had the time to dedicate to this small but very important and unexpected ministry.

Meanwhile my other, remaining classes (no I didn’t lose them all, just a few) are back on and going well, particularly my Friday afternoon Art Club with the youth out at Carmen Bajo.

IMG_0011

Just this weekend I returned to Puyo out in the jungle and reunited with my friends and almost-family there who I haven’t seen in quite a few months since traveling to the States, and was able to help out with the monthly mission trip into the Amazon by preparing a craft to go with the kids lesson about Esther.

IMG_0105

We made neon paper crowns with the verse Esther 4:14.

07d7d3862a5f1c12e1f2c84ca4f87889

An excellent and inspiring verse, because who of us ever knows if we are not, at this moment, in just the time and place for which we too were created? A thought for the day.IMG_0037

5 responses

  1. Rebecca Czarniecki

    Awesome darling! I am smiling thinking of how all that time at Artworks prepared you and primed you doing just this. And you are effecting such great change, such joy.

    I am glad you are well and suriving…thriving. I would have loved to see you when you were here last. Please think of me next time so that we can catch up a bit.

    Many hugs and lots of love and prayers being sent your way.

    Becca

    April 15, 2015 at 2:08 pm

  2. Juanita Guerrero

    Rachel, no way! Despite the sad situation with the girl she is very talented just like you!!! Please tell Caitlyn. Estamos orando por ella y que sigue pintando pq Dios le ha dado un talento super especial. Las pinturas son hermosas!! Dios le ama para siempre.

    You are an amazing chica, Rachel!! Love your heart for others!

    April 15, 2015 at 11:02 pm

  3. Doris Gordon

    I just read your news after emailing you. so sorry about the mugging. but you have survived and thrived. The pictures are wonderful esp. the painting of the mountain. WOW
    God be with you. Doris

    April 15, 2015 at 11:10 pm

  4. Mary Beth

    Hi, Rachel,

    I thank God that you are safe after your brief ordeal and that you are still learning and growing from it.

    Thanks for sharing some of Caitlin’s story (albeit painful) and her absolutely stunning art. I am so glad that you have a soul-sister with whom to share art as you share the gospel.

    I am holding you both before God in my prayers. Many, many blessings, Mary Beth

    April 16, 2015 at 12:45 pm

  5. Stewart Gordon

    Hello to our most fav, and beautiful Niece down in old Ecuador.  Finally getting a breather, and thought about you and wanted to say, “Thank You” for the update and letting us know about the great things that our awesome God is doing in your life. Especially after all that we’ve been working through with Grandma Gordon over the past month, and her great recovery! Another miracle in deed. Your miracles are pretty impressive to! We’re all getting ready for Danielle to finish up her Pharmacy Rotations this coming Friday, and head back home. Followed up with finalizing plans for her Graduation the following weekend(May 2) in Athens GA.  We’ve got Aunt Pearl’s Mom & Dad heading down, and Matthew is making the drive down as well.  That crazy son of ours, drove down here this past weekend to attend a special program with friends at U.Ga., and didn’t give us any heads up, and showed up at our 11:00am Church Service Sunday morning and surprised the you know what out of us! It was a quick visit for him though. As soon as the Service was over, and a nice lunch at Apple-B’s with us, & he was back on the Interstate heading off to VA to make a rental car turn in by midnight, -unbelievable- Parents just love things like this?? But, he made it back just in time as he had planned. He only has this week left for finishing his 2nd semester at GWU, then he’ll be done with his first year.  We sure hope that he makes the grades needed(?), **Please Say a “BiG Prayer for him!  He struggled quite a bit this 2nd semester, and even had to have that special conference with his professors about his GPA that had fallen to a point of concern for the Masters/Doctorate program he’s in at the mid- half point. Nevertheless, I’m sure that these final tests/exams he’ll be taking this week will all determine certain futures for him? We’re hoping he does really well so that he can stay in the Physical Therapy School Masters program – I’m sure ya know what I mean?  On the good side, he’s feeling positive about the whole thing, and has told us not to worry – ha, ha- Really?  Well Rachel, I have to close for now, and send you many BiG and warm loving hugs, and let you know that we’re all lifting you up in our prayers daily, and thinking about you.  Be Safe(As best that ya can?), and keep up the good works.  F.Y.I.- the 2 paintings that the young girl did are very impressive. Keep mentoring her, you’re really making a difference in her life- and so is God.Love & Hugs, Uncle Stewart and Aunt Pearl and Family.

    April 21, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Leave a comment